Guest blog by Dr Judy Galvin on living alone with dementia

Today I am publishing a guest blog, written by a woman I am honoured to know, and whom I often feel in awe of. Judy has given me permission to share her story of living alone with dementia of the Alzheimer’s type. My blog title uses the word dementia, as her story applies to anyone living alone with any type of dementia. There are a significant number of people with dementia living alone, and as she rightly says, currently they do not have much of a voice. The other group with no voice, are the children of people with younger onset dementia, like my sons. Hopefully, the advocacy of many around the world will start to change this, and I hope this story is shared by many. Thank you Judy, for your support, friendship, and for the privilege of allowing me to share your story here. We work together on the…

View original post 1,181 more words

About AmazingSusan

Dementia care advocate and blogger.

Leave a Reply

