How Do You Mourn The Living?

A great post about parenting, love, loss, and being conflicted.

The Belle Jar

Tomorrow is Father’s Day.

If you’re a fairly regular reader here, you may have noticed that I don’t often mention my dad, and when I do it’s always in the past tense. He’ll sometimes come up when I write about my childhood, but other than that I almost never talk about him. He’s not dead or anything – in fact, he lives in the same city that I do. He’s just not a part of my life.

A few years ago my father became estranged from my sisters and I. There’s a whole lot of backstory there, but I’m not going to get into the whole thing here. For one thing, it’s not entirely my story to tell. For another, I don’t want to write anything here that might hurt anyone. So I’ll just say that there was a long, protracted leave-taking that involved a lot of tearful discussions, tentative reconciliations…

View original post 1,182 more words

About AmazingSusan

Funky, fit, quirky maverick; passionate about women’s issues, curious about everything and grateful to be awake . Born to celebrate, motivate and inspire. Humble traveler, life-long learner and prolific blogger with a whole whack of irons in the fire. Love being amazed and amazing. That's me out of the box. More at the links :)

Leave a Reply

