Buffalo nickels and loaves of bread. And pennies and cabbage, too.

I found a brand new shiny 2005 penny in the parking lot of a book store the year my ex and I split up. It seemed like a good omen, so I put it on my charm bracelet, along with other charming treasures from around the world…. and speaking of finding, here’s one of my own posts on both sides of the coin: https://amazingsusansblog.wordpress.com/2013/05/04/the-lost-and-found/

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Buffalo NickelYesterday I was given a buffalo nickel in a handful of change. Of all things! A buffalo nickel! These were minted between 1913 and 1938, and though the date on mine has been completely worn away, meaning I’ll never know when it was struck, I do know that it was certainly no later than 1938 — at which time, apparently, a nickel would have bought you a jumbo loaf of sliced bread (at a time when being able to afford a jumbo loaf of anything was hardly a foregone conclusion).

Anyway – I have some pretty powerful feelings about old coins! And I wrote about them once. Hereunder, that post.

A PENNY FOR YOUR HALF A CABBAGE

I have this odd little habit. It’s harmless, but also seemingly pointless. Every once and a while I stop and wonder: Why is that again? I collect what are known as wheat head…

View original post 636 more words

About AmazingSusan

Dementia care advocate and blogger.

Leave a Reply

